Stand Up! Fall Prevention Program

Supporting older adults to “be active” and “improve balance” are key components of the Stay On Your Feet Strategy.  
Stand Up! focuses on building balance, strength and flexibility among older adults who are concerned about their balance or who have had a fall.  Increasing the physical activity level and overall balance of the older adult are two key components of Stay On Your Feet.
 

Stand Up! Classes  

  • Offered free to older adults who qualify based on an assessment
  • Designed for older adults who live independently in the community 
  • Participants may have had a fall or are worried about their balance.
  • Participants must commit to attend 12 weeks of class, 2.5 hours per week.
  • A pre and posttest helps participants see their improvement over time
  • Local Public Health Units organize the classes in their district

Click here for a list of Stand Up! classes in your area

To find out about training opportunities, to offer a class or to find out where the next class begins in your area call your health unit contact, listed below.

For More Information Call Your Local Health Unit:

Algoma: Helen Kwolek, Public Health Nurse, hkwolek@algomapublichealth.com, 1-866-892-0172 ext. 3125 

North Bay Parry Sound: Joanna Han, Community Health Promoter, joanna.han@healthunit.ca, 1-800-563-2808

Porcupine: Patrick Nowak, Patrick.Nowak@porcupinehu.on.ca, 1-800-461-1818

Sudbury and District: Sabrina Kalviainen, BScN, Public Health Nurse kalviainens@sdhu.com, 1-855-674-4330 

Timiskaming: Lorna Desmarais, Public Health Promoter, desmaraisl@timiskaminghu.com, 1-866-747-4305 ext. 2239 

For more information contact:  Wendy Carew, Regional Coordinator SOYF, NE LHIN, wendy.carew@lhins.on.ca or 705-840-1610

Relevant Links